My Happiness Project

happinessproject

I read this really neat book recently called “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin and i honestly would recommend it if you’re feeling like your life could use a happiness boost. Who couldn’t benefit from a little more happiness? This of course leads one to give a second thought as to what you believe happiness really is. And then there’s the question of “Is it selfish to focus on your own happiness so much?” and the answer is simply: absolutely not. It is a cause more than worthy of your time and attention. I can understand being more concerned for other peoples happiness over your own, but i think finding happiness yourself would be a good place to start. Kind of like the rule “you cant love others until you can love yourself”. But then of course, helping people (especially people you love) is proven to boost ones own happiness.

So much can be said about the topic of happiness. In “The Happiness Project”, Gretchen Rubin shares an impressive amount of research on this topic and lays it out in a very comprehensive way. I’m looking forward to reading her newest book “Happier at Home” as well as her upcoming book about habits (coming out March 2015)!

Anyways, in The Happiness Project, Gretchen takes on a year of resolutions that she believes will make her happier and therefore make her life better, more carefree and easier to handle! She breaks the resolutions down into categories like friendship, leisure, marriage, books, mindfulness, money, etc. and takes on one category per month. I’ve decided to do my own Happiness Project, but I’m not sure it will be for a whole year. For my first month (July) I’m starting with ways to have more physical energy. I’ve decided to challenge myself to:

  • Drink 5 glasses of water every day
  • Make time to get outside every day
  • Take up yoga (Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Weekends optional)
  • Take the girls for a walk at least once a week

I know that these don’t sound like very challenging goals, but they are for me. Admittedly, yes, i have picked simple resolutions to start off my project, but these have proven surprisingly difficult. Drinking 5 cups of water for some reason is the resolution I’m having the most trouble with. On average, I drink about as much water as i do coffee (3 cups a day). Not proud of this, by the way. Its only been one week of the project though, so I have plenty of time. I think next month my category will be Mothering (parenting).

This entry was posted in Happiness Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

